# **QSM Council Meeting Minutes**

## October 20, 2018

The QSM Council Meeting was held October 20, 2018 during the joint Louisiana Science Teachers Association/Louisiana Association of Teachers of Mathematics Conference in Shreveport, LA.

### **Attendance**

Attendees included the following board members: Jean May-Brett, Johnette Roberts, Tricia Miller, Nathan Cotten, Shan Davis, Shannon Lafont, Carolyn Sessions, Jeff Holcomb, Brad Burkman, Chris Hynes, Jill Cowart

The minutes from the 2017 Council Meeting were distributed to the attendees. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Shannon Lafont at 10:15 am. The October 27, 2017 minutes were accepted by a unanimous vote of the Council. Moved by Jean May-Brett and seconded by Carolyn Sessions the motion carried.

#### **Old Business**

2017-2018 awards were discussed. No upcoming changes to the system were needed at this time.

## **New Business**

The 2018-2019 submissions had been reviewed and were in the process of being selected according to the scores. All proposals that received a minimum of 80%-100% were set to be processed. If additional funds are available, the minimum of 70%-79% proposals would be accepted.

Several workshops had been provided to teachers to learn how to write a winning proposal. Teachers across the state were informed of the 2<sup>nd</sup> round of proposals and encouraged to submit a proposal to provide much needed hands-on instructional materials to bolster their students science and mathematics skills.

Once again, over 600 K-12 teachers across the state started an application, but only 297 actually submitted a proposal.

Readers for the 2017-18 QSM grants were thanked for their service.

Jean indicated that once we have the names of this year's readers both LATM and LSTA will provide a thank you to all QSM readers by listing them in the association newsletters as they have been in the past. Timeline for teacher notification and funding: Brenda indicated that she plans to notify teachers of their status as soon as possible.

Nathan Cotton moved for Monday, September 11, 2019 to be the grant deadline. Seconded by Jean. Motion carried.

Election of Chairman: • Jean May-Brett moved to reelect Shannon Lafont as board chairman. Seconded by Nathan Cotten, Motion carried. There were no other Announcements/Other Business.